Suzanne's Story

Kristian’s dad left when he was a baby, unable to cope with his disability. He has seen him only a few times since and does not acknowledge  him. However, I have  some great friends who have known Kristian all his life and have helped me support him. But it has been difficult.

I’ve not been able to work as my free time is limited, and few employers are flexible enough. My care for Kristian comes first and this has caused financial hardship.I keep busy through doing  voluntary work and attending  support/social groups including ones run by Carers FIRST. This has helped with the isolation of living in a  rural community, that is a bit further out than I would like, as well as boosting my own sense of self worth.

I am someone who looks at life positively and gains a great deal of pleasure from life with Kristian. I laugh at still having toys in the lounge and Kristian blowing bubbles sitting in the front garden. He is a hulking 6.4 tall and ‘pretty solid’ but a ‘gentle giant’ who has always been easy going and loving. His verbal communication skills are limited but have developed considerably since attending a day centre in Medway, this was after attending a day service that was unstimulating. I have tried to use respite but Kristian is not keen and this is still a ‘work in progress’ .

It can be difficult to have a social life when you’re  a full time carer, Kristian may be 33 but he cannot be left on his own. My life revolves around Kristian,  taking and picking up from the day centre, organising trips and holidays, meals and general family life. I think he is content, gentle and happy and my reason for getting up each morning.